You are here : Home > PBRC Team > Welcome to the Web pages of the Bacterial Pathogenesis and Cellular Responses (PBRC)

ERL5261 CNRS team

Welcome to the Web pages of the Bacterial Pathogenesis and Cellular Responses (PBRC)

Published on 1 October 2019

Team leader

Ina Attrée
CNRS Research Director, HDR

Laboratoire Biologie du Cancer et de l'Infection
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 9
Phone: +33 (0)4 38 78 34 83
Fax: +33 (0)4 38 78 44 99

 
Team members

Claire Bama, CEA technical assistant
Stéphanie Bouillot, CEA technician
François Cretin, UGA associate professor
Sylvie Elsen, CNRS researcher (CR), HDR
Eric Faudry, CEA engineer-researcher (CR), HDR
Philippe Huber, CEA engineer-researcher (DR), HDR
Viviana Job, CEA engineer-researcher,
Antoine Maillard, CEA engineer-researcher (CR)
Marie-Pierre Mendez, CNRS assistant engineer, team secretary
Michel Ragno, CNRS assistant engineer,
Mylène Robert-Genthon, CNRS engineer,

Giorgia Chiaverri, Erasmus
Vincent Deruelle, PhD student
Manon Janet-Maître, doctorante
Stéphane Pont, PhD student
Julian Trouillon, PhD student
Presentation


The main interest of our Team is the study of bacterial pathogenesis and our model is a gram-negative bacillus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa. This bacterium possesses a great adaptability to different environments; it has been detected in diverse niche and is usually associated with human activities. The bacterium is capable to colonize different hosts, including humans, but also insects, plants and some animals. In healthy people, P. aeruginosa is detected on the skin, in the nose and in the gastrointestinal tract.

However, P. aeruginosa is clearly recognized as a dangerous opportunistic pathogen; it provokes acute and chronic infections, notably in immunocompromised patients or associated with other pathologies, such as cystic fibrosis, or patients under ventilation in Intensive Care Units. Therefore, P. aeruginosa is considered as a nosocomial pathogen. The main problem of treating P. aeruginosa infections is its antibiotic resistance and its amazing adaptation capacities, which results in synthesis of numerous toxic products that allow host invasion, colonization and spread.
P. aeruginosa possesses a number of secretion machineries that permits the transfer of bacterial proteins from the cytoplasm toward the extracellular milieu, or even the direct translocation within the host cell. These secretion systems confer to P. aeruginosa the virulence capacity, which may be more or less important, depending on expression levels or combination of toxins one given strain is employing.
The main focus of the team is to develop a basic research aiming at deciphering the virulence strategies used by Pseudomonas aeruginosa to promote infections. More specifically, our goal is to understand the molecular mechanisms this human opportunistic pathogen employs to colonize organs and to eventually cross epithelial and endothelial barriers, leading to acute and chronic infections. To achieve this goal, we have developed a pipeline that allows us to study different bacterial proteins/toxins by integrated approaches (genetics, biochemistry, cellular microbiology, infection of in vivo models) and to assign their role(s) in pathogenesis. By studying bacterial secretion systems and secreted toxins/effectors that are responsible for cellular effects, with possible applications in the treatment of P. aeruginosa infections, the Team is positioned at the interface of translational research.



Additional Grants




Key words

Pseudomonas aeruginosa, toxins, cystic fibrosis, T3SS, T6SS, translocon, needle, injectisome, host-pathogen interaction, interactome, chemogenomics, regulation, signaling.


Science en marche

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe PBRC > Bienvenue sur les pages Web de l'équipe Pathogenèse Bactérienne et Réponses Cellulaires (PBRC)

Équipe CNRS ERL5261

Bienvenue sur les pages Web de l'équipe Pathogenèse Bactérienne et Réponses Cellulaires (PBRC)

Publié le 17 février 2019

Le 17 avril, notre équipe organisera la réunion de bactériologie de Grenoble (Bacto-Gre 2019). La réunion aura lieu au CEA-Grenoble.
Affichette - Programme.


Chef d'équipe

Ina Attrée
Directrice de recherche CNRS, HDR

Laboratoire Biologie du Cancer et de l'Infection
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 9
Tel. : 04 38 78 34 83
Fax : 04 38 78 44 99
Membres de l'équipe

Claire Bama, technicienne assistante CEA
Stéphanie Bouillot, technicienne CEA
François Cretin, maître de conférences UGA
Sylvie Elsen, chercheuse CNRS (CR), HDR
Eric Faudry, ingénieur-chercheur CEA (CR)
Philippe Huber, ingénieur-chercheur CEA (DR), HDR
Viviana Job, ingénieure-chercheuse CEA
Antoine Maillard, ingénieur-chercheur CEA (CR)
Marie-Pierre Mendez, Assistante ingénieure CNRS,
gestionnaire de l’équipe
Michel Ragno, Assistant ingénieur CNRS
Mylène Robert-Genthon, ingénieure d'études CNRS

Alice Berry, doctorante
Vincent Deruelle, doctorant
Manon Janet-Maître, doctorante
Stéphane Pont
, doctorant
Julian Trouillon, doctorant
Présentation


L'intérêt principal de notre équipe est l'étude de la pathogenèse bactérienne, et notre modèle est la bactérie gram-négative Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Cette bactérie présente une forte capacité d'adaptation à différents environnements ; elle a été détectée dans une grande variété d'écosystèmes et elle est traditionnellement associée aux activités humaines. Cette bactérie est capable de coloniser différents hôtes, l'homme mais également les insectes, des plantes et d'autres animaux. Chez les personnes saines, P. aeruginosa est présente sur la peau, dans les voies aériennes supérieures et le tractus gastro-intestinal.

P. aeruginosa est cependant reconnue comme un pathogène opportuniste dangereux ; elle provoque des infections chroniques ou aiguës, en particulier chez les patients atteints de mucoviscidose ou immunodéprimés, ou lorsque les malades ont une assistance respiratoire. P. aeruginosa est donc un agent responsable d'infections nosocomiales. La principale difficulté pour traiter les patients infectés par cette bactérie est sa multi-résistance aux antibiotiques et ses importantes facultés d'adaptation, qui conduisent à la synthèse de nombreux produits toxiques permettant l'invasion de l'hôte par la bactérie, sa colonisation et sa dissémination dans l'organisme.

P. aeruginosa possède plusieurs systèmes de sécrétion qui permettent le transfert des protéines bactériennes vers le milieu extracellulaire ou leur translocation directement dans le cytoplasme de la cellule cible. Ces systèmes de sécrétion confèrent à la bactérie sa capacité de virulence, qui peut varier en fonction de la combinaison des toxines produites par chaque souche.

Notre équipe cherche à comprendre les stratégies de virulence utilisées par P. aeruginosa lors de l'infection. Plus particulièrement, notre objectif est d'identifier les mécanismes moléculaires que le pathogène utilise pour coloniser des organes et pour traverser les barrières épithéliales et endothéliales de l'organisme, provoquant ainsi des infections généralisées. Pour cela, nous avons développé une chaîne de procédures ("pipeline") nous permettant d'étudier des protéines bactériennes par des approches intégrées (génétique, biochimique, microbiologique et par infection de modèles cellulaires et in vivo) afin d'identifier leur(s) rôle(s) en pathologie humaine. En étudiant les systèmes de sécrétion et les toxines sécrétées responsables des effets cellulaires chez l'hôte, notre équipe se positionne à l'interface avec la recherche translationnelle.


Financements additionnels





Mots clefs

Pseudomonas aeruginosa, toxine, mucoviscidose, SST3, SST6, translocon, aiguille, injectisome, interaction hôte-pathogène, interactome, chemogénomique, régulation, signalisation



Science en marche