You are here : Home > BCI Laboratory > VE-cadherin post-translational modifications: From molecular mechanisms to clinical applications

Adama Sidibé

VE-cadherin post-translational modifications: From molecular mechanisms to clinical applications

Published on 14 December 2012


Thesis presented December 14, 2012

Abstract:
The vascular endothelium barrier function is influenced by vascular endothelial cadherin (VE-cadherin) modifications such as its cytoplasmic tail tyrosine phosphorylation and its ecto-domain cleavage (sVE). The work reported herein was divided into two parts:
1- Study of VE-cadherin modifications and the mechanisms underlying these ones in the rheumatoid arthritis context. This work demonstrat​ed that VE-cadherin is a target of TNF
α, a highly important cytokine in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) pathogenesis. We found TNFα to induce sVE shedding in a Src kinase dependent manner, suggesting the involvement of phosphorylation mechanism in this process. In addition, this VE-cadherin cleavage requires matrix metalloproteinase activities such as that of MMP-2. Applying these fundamental data to clinical study showed that sVE was detected in sera of 63 RA patients and its titer was correlated with the disease activity. This finding suggests an obvious interest for assaying sVE in RA therapies.
2- Study of VE-cadherin tyrosine phosphorylation in a context of hormones-regulated angiogenesis during mouse estrous cycle. The results showed VE-cadherin phosphorylation at Y685 that was regulated along mouse estrous cycle allowing to proposing mouse estrous cycle as a physiological model for studying VE-cadherin phosphorylation in vivo. The analysis of VE-cadherin Y685F knock-in mice (VE-Y685F) showed that these mice exhibit a higher vascular permeability in uterus and ovaries and the skin small capillaries compared to wild-type animals. Moreover, VE-Y685F mice presented higher levels of soluble VE-cadherin compared to wild-type counterparts in two induced arthritis model.
Altogether, sVE and VE-cadherin phosphorylation present an array of interests for RA therapies as well as developing new therapeutic tools in RA and other vascular diseases.

Keywords:
Angiogenesis, vascular endothelium, phosphorylation, tyrosine kinase, VE-cadherin, rheumatoid arthritis

Download this thesis.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Laboratoire BCI > Modifications post-traductionnelles de la VE-cadhérine : des mécanismes moléculaires aux applications cliniques

Adama Sidibé

Modifications post-traductionnelles de la VE-cadhérine : des mécanismes moléculaires aux applications cliniques

Publié le 14 décembre 2012


Thèse soutenue le 14 décembre 2012 pour obtenir le grade de Docteur de l'Université de Grenoble - Spécialité : Biologie Cellulaire

Résumé :
La fonction de barrière de l'endothélium vasculaire est affectée par des modifications de la cadhérine des cellules endothéliales (VE-cadhérine) telles que la phosphorylation sur tyrosine dans son domaine cytoplasmique et le clivage de son domaine extracellulaire (sVE). Ce travail s'est articulé en deux parties : ​
1- Etude de ces modifications dans le contexte de la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR), et les mécanismes sous-tendus. Ce travail a permis de montrer que la VE-cadhérine est une cible du TNFα, une cytokine essentielle dans la PR, qui induit de la libération de sVE de façon dépendante de l'activité kinase de Src, suggérant l'implication d'un mécanisme de phosphorylation sur tyrosine dans ce processus. De plus, la VE-cadhérine est aussi la cible des protéases de la matrice extracellulaire telles que MMP-2. L'application de ces données fondamentales à la clinique a permis de montrer que sVE était retrouvée dans le sang de patients PR (n=63) et que son taux était corrélé à l'activité de la maladie. Ainsi, le dosage de sVE est d'intérêt dans la prise en charge des patients. 
2-Etude de la phosphorylation de la VE-cadhérine dans un contexte d'angiogenèse hormono-régulée au cours du cycle ovarien chez la souris. Les résultats ont montré que le site Y685 de la VE-cadhérine est phosphorylé dans l'ovaire et l'utérus de souris de façon régulée pendant le cycle, ce qui permet de proposer ce modèle physiologique pour étudier la phosphorylation de la VE-cadhérine in vivo. L'analyse de souris knock-in Y685F de la VE-cadhérine (VE-Y685F) a montré que l'absence du site confère une perméabilité accrue dans l'ovaire et l'utérus mais aussi dans les petits capillaires de la peau. De plus, dans deux modèles d'induction d'arthrite, les souris VE-Y685F ont présenté un taux de sVE plus élevé que les contrôles. 
Au total, sVE et la phosphorylation de la VE-cadhérine ont un vaste champ d'application dans le traitement de la PR ainsi que pour le développement de nouvelles thérapies pouvant s'étendre à d'autres pathologies vasculaires.

Jury :
Rapporteur : Olivier Vittecoq
Rapporteur : Gilles Pages
Examinateur : Olivier Chabre
Examinatrice : Annie Andrieux
Examinatrice : Ewa N​inio
Directrice de thèse : Isabelle Vilgrain

Mots-clés :
Angiogenèse, endothélium vasculaire, phosphorylation, tyrosine kinase, VE-​cadhérine, polyarthrite rhumatoïde

Télécharger la thèse.