You are here : Home > PBRC Team > Research topics of the team > Discovery and description of a ... > ExlA toxicity in vivo

ExlA toxicity in vivo

Published on 19 February 2020
We first phenotypically analyzed ExlA-positive cohort collected worldwide revealing differential levels of expression of virulence factors and different motility patterns [10]. In the mouse, ExlA promotes bacterial growth in infected lungs and dissemination in several organs. It induces major lesions in lung alveoli, owing to its capacity to trigger necrosis of epithelial and endothelial cells, hence provoking hemorrhages by rupture of the alveolo-capillary barrier [11].
P. aeruginosa-induced hyperinflammation is known to be deleterious for the host. Inflammation is orchestrated by inflammasome activation within resident macrophages, leading to caspase-1-dependent IL-1β maturation and pyroptosis. IHMA87, the ExlA-positive strain that was particularly studied in the lab, was able of inflammasome activation in bone marrow-derived macrophages, leading to pyroptosis and IL-1β secretion [12].
To understand the role of inflammasome in IHMA87 infection in vivo, caspase-I-deficient and wild-type mice were infected using an acute pneumonia model. Infected mice survived better when they lacked caspase-1, indicating that the hyperinflammation induced by the presence of IHMA87 is detrimental for the animals. Some pro-inflammatory cytokines (IL-6, IL-17a and KC) are less produced and less neutrophils are recruited in caspase-I-deficient lungs.
Thus, as for T3SS-positive strains, IHMA87 triggers an excessive inflammasome-dependent inflammatory response that is deleterious for the host.


Macrophage damage induced by Pseudomonas aeruginosa (ExlA+) strain.

References
[10] Reboud et al (2016) Environmental microbiology 18(10):3425-3439.,
[11] Bouillot et al (2017) Scientific reports 7(1):2120.,
[12] Basso et al (2017) Environmental microbiology 19(10):4045-4064.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Équipe PBRC > Axes de recherche > Découverte et description d'un ... > Toxicité in vivo d'ExlA

Toxicité in vivo d'ExlA

Publié le 19 février 2020
Nous avons d'abord analysé phénotypiquement la cohorte des souches ExlA-positive collectée dans le monde entier, révélant des niveaux différent d’expression des facteurs de virulence et divers modes de motilité [10]. Chez la souris, la présence d’ExlA favorise la croissance des bactéries dans les poumons infectés et leur dissémination dans plusieurs organes. Elle induit des lésions importantes dans les alvéoles pulmonaires, en raison de sa capacité à déclencher la nécrose des cellules épithéliales et endothéliales, provoquant ainsi des hémorragies par rupture de la barrière alvéolo-capillaire [11].
L'hyperinflammation induite par P. aeruginosa est connue pour être délétère pour l'hôte. L'inflammation est orchestrée par l'activation des inflammasomes au sein des macrophages résidents, ce qui entraîne la maturation de l'IL-1β via une voie caspase-1-dépendante provoquant une mort cellulaire par pyroptose. IHMA87, la souche ExlA-positive qui a été particulièrement étudiée en laboratoire, est capable d'activer l'inflammation dans les macrophages dérivés de la moelle osseuse, conduisant à la pyroptose et à la sécrétion de l'IL-1β [12].
Pour comprendre le rôle de l'inflammasome dans l'infection in vivo par l'IHMA87, des souris déficientes en caspase 1 et sauvage ont été infectées à l'aide d'un modèle de pneumonie aiguë. Les souris infectées ont mieux survécu lorsqu'elles étaient dépourvues de caspase-1, ce qui indique que l'hyperinflammation induite par la présence d’IHMA87 est préjudiciable pour les animaux. Certaines cytokines pro-inflammatoires (IL-6, IL-17a et KC) sont moins produites et moins de neutrophiles sont recrutés dans les poumons déficients en caspase-1.
Donc, comme pour les souches T3SS-positives, IHMA87 déclenche une réponse inflammatoire excessive, dépendante de l'inflammation, qui est délétère pour l'hôte.
 

Dégradation des macrophages induite par la souche Pseudomonas aeruginosa (ExlA+).

Références
[10] Reboud et al (2016) Environmental microbiology 18(10):3425-3439.,
[11] Bouillot et al (2017) Scientific reports 7(1):2120.,
[12] Basso et al (2017) Environmental microbiology 19(10):4045-4064.